How do I cancel an Uber ride? When do cancellation fees apply? (Rider's Perspective)
The Guru Take
Rider's Perspective - The current policy is below as well as the cancellation fees.
How to cancel a ride
You can cancel a trip at any time before or after you've been paired with a driver, but in some situations, you may be charged a fee.
1. Tap the white info bar at the bottom of your screen
2. Tap Cancel
3. You'll be asked to confirm. Tap Yes.
When cancellation fees don't apply:
- If you cancel within 5 minutes (or 2 minutes for UberPool).
- If your driver is late by more than 5 minutes. The time is based on the ETA that's displayed when your trip is first accepted
- If Uber detects that your driver isn't making progress to your pickup location
When you'll be charged a cancellation fee for uberPOOL trips
- If you cancel more than 1 minute after your POOL request has been accepted. In some cases, your cancellation fees will be based on how far your driver has already driven.
- If your driver cancels after waiting at least 2 minutes at your pickup location
When you'll be charged a cancellation fee for non-POOL trips
- If you cancel more than 2 minutes after your request has been accepted. In some cases, your cancellation fees will be based on how far your driver has already driven.
- If your driver cancels after waiting at least 5 minutes at your pickup location
You'll always be shown the exact fee when you cancel a trip before you confirm your cancellation.
To keep the app running smoothly for everyone, you may be charged a penalty when you cancel trips more than once in a short period of time.
Requesting a refund
If you believe you were incorrectly charged a cancellation fee, request a refund through the link below.