The Uber platform lets both riders and drivers cancel rides for any reason, however, in some instances a “Cancellation Fee” may occur. Sometimes, the rider may even be charged a fee if the driver is the one who cancels! This can cause some confusion and frustration when riders feel they were treated unfairly. Here is every instance in which you will be charged a cancellation fee and how to fight a fee if you feel you were wrongly charged.
If you cancel more than 1 minute after your POOL request has been accepted OR if your driver cancels after waiting at least 2 minutes at your pickup location.
If you cancel more than 2 minutes after your UberX request has been accepted OR if your driver cancels after waiting at least 5 minutes at your pickup location (10 minutes for Comfort rides).
If you cancel more than 5 minutes after your Black or BlackSUV request has been accepted OR if your driver cancels after waiting at least 15 minutes at your pickup location.
It is also important to note that a cancellation fee won't apply if Uber detects that your driver hasn't made progress to your pickup location or if your driver is 5 or more minutes late. Though, just to make things more confusing, Uber also states that in some cases, the cancellation fee will also be based on how far your driver has already driven.
If you feel you were wrongly charged a cancellation fee, fill out the form on this page here.
Lastly, sometimes it may look like you were charged a complete fare even though you canceled the ride. This is simply an authorization hold on your credit card and will disappear within a few business days!