×
Post New Topic

Uber lets your ex-drivers see all your pick-up and drop off locations!?

{{ ratingSum }}
dishesswishes
64
 Posted 4 years, 7 months ago

Apparently they are working on fixing this but what?! I didn't know they could do this. So scary....

https://www.cnet.com/roadshow/news/uber-rider-history-obscure-location/

Comments

    {{ ratingSum }}
    greatkingdomcome
    46 Rider
     4 years ago

    If this freaks you out, don't google "Uber God View".

    Show Hide  2 Replies
      {{ ratingSum }}
      gen1
      62 Rider
       4 years ago

      Have they gotten rid of goc view yet? I feel like it has caused so many issues.

      {{ ratingSum }}
      dishesswishes
      OP 64
       4 years ago

      make it stop!

    {{ ratingSum }}
    chawes
    756 Rider Guru
     4 years ago

    The whole concept of data privacy is about to leave its "wild west" phase. Europe has its new GDPR regulations taking effect next month which also prevent things like this happening to users unknowingly and has very steep fines for companies that violate its restrictions.

    For the best...

    {{ ratingSum }}
    lionfool
    236 Rider Driver
     4 years ago

    What frigging idiot at Uber decided this was a good idea?? What POSSIBLE justification can there be? I cannot think of any reason why a driver would need to know this information. Utterly ludicrous.

    {{ ratingSum }}
    chipsavoy
    140
     4 years ago

    I am confused - ALL your locations or just the ones that they gave you rides for?

    {{ ratingSum }}
    bellylaugh
    50 Rider
     4 years ago

    That is why you always request rides down the street from your home!!

    {{ ratingSum }}
    FitBitMeIn
    138
     4 years ago

    This article is kinda irresponsible. It spews all these concerns and never fully explain what the drivers can do and see. Can someone elaborate on what the drivers an see?

    btw, I totally get it that Uber as a company has to keep track and store all transaction history even after the account has been deleted. So the rub is that the drivers can see it, right?

    Show Hide  3 Replies
      {{ ratingSum }}
      eForceX77
      113
       4 years ago

      Why do they need the trip records once you delete the account?  Should all be deleted

        {{ ratingSum }}
        AngieKM169
        120 Rider
         4 years ago

        Well, there was a transaction, like a purchase. They need to keep a track of that. 

        Just like how Amazon keeps track of your purchase history. Same thing. 

          {{ ratingSum }}
          LandLoverRover
          104
           4 years ago

          Everyone used to complain when a few years ago, when Target was sending out coupons based on past purchase history. Now we never hear about it. All this stuff today with Facebook and Uber will also blow over. Give it 8 months.