Can I (the driver) be deactivated or lose Uber account for having a low acceptance rate?
The Guru Take
No, but you will be warned and there are negative consequences.
No, you actually cannot, but there are negative consequences.
First of all, let’s clarify for the general audience that Uber does keep track of your acceptance rate. The higher is better in Uber’s book, and they have suggested it should be higher than 80% in the past.
Uber’s official policy states the driver cannot be permanently deactivated or lose the account. Their formal policy states:
High acceptance rates are a critical part of reliable, high-quality service, but not accepting trip requests does not lead to permanent loss of your account.
Consistently accepting trip requests helps maximize earnings for drivers and keeps the system running smoothly. We know that sometimes things come up that prevent you from accepting every trip request, or you may want to take a break. But not accepting trip requests causes delays and degrades the reliability of the system. If you don’t want to accept trips, just log off.
If you consistently decline trip requests, we will assume you do not want to accept more trips and you may be logged out of the app. (https://www.uber.com/legal/community-guidelines/us-en/)
With that said, here are a few things Uber will do:
- Uber will send you warning messages
- Uber app will log you out for a period of time.
Both of these are designed to discourage drivers from becoming "too picky" and to encourage them for accepting rides.