Safety should always be a top priority when taking a rideshare. One of the best safety features you can utilize is sharing your ride information with trusted family or friends. Lyft has an easy way within their application for riders to quickly (and even automatically) share ride details with whomever they choose.
When you share your Lyft ride details with someone, they'll get a link that shows them the following:
To share your location while you're in a ride simply follow the below steps.
If you're ever uncomfortable during a ride or feel you are in danger, you can request help discreetly by tapping ‘Alert 911 silently’ in the Safety Tools section. A member from ADT will then contact law enforcement to share your location details.
Anyone you add will get a text message with a link whenever your ride details are shared. You can add up to five contacts in this section. Swipe left on a name and tap 'Delete' to remove someone.
When setting up Automatic Location Sharing you will see there are three options.
Automatically shares all your rides.
Only rides at night (9 PM-6 AM)
Only shares rides you take between 9 PM and 6 AM.
Never share automatically
You can choose to manually share your ride details by tapping 'Safety tools' at the bottom of the screen during a ride.
Finally, if you would rather, you can also simply send your ETA to anyone by tapping 'Send ETA' during any ride. This allows your friend or family member to see your progress toward the destination, a photo of the driver, the license plate number, and the vehicle color, make, and model
Through these various options to share your ride details with trusted contacts, you can feel more confident that you will arrive safely at your destination.