×
×

Compare rides on the mobile app.

Access real time surge, wait times, and more.

Steps to Turn Off Uber's Background Activity on Your Phone (and protect your location information!)

Posted by: RideGuru Dec 02, 2016

0 comments

Recently, you may have heard that Uber has made a change to their TOS that lets the app track your whereabouts even when you are not actively using the Uber app. The change lets the ride-hailing giant track your locations whenever you pop open the app or simply have it running in the background of your phone. Up until this point, Uber only collected your location data if you were actively using the app for rides.

Luckily, there is a way you can switch off Uber's background activity on your device if you would rather the company does not follow your every move. Simply follow the Android or iOS steps below to safeguard your movements.

Android: Settings > Apps > Uber > scroll to "Permission" > toggle "Location"

iOS: Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Uber > choose "Never"

Whlile this will turn off Uber's background activity on your device, keep in mind that by making this change, you will be forced to manually input your current location and destination each time you wish to use the Uber service.

{{ ratingSum }}

No comments yet. Be the first!

Comment on this Post