Uber has come a long way from it’s early days as a simple app to hail a black car! Now, you can order most anything through the Uber platform and, for the most part, Uber has made their service pretty user friendly. However, we still see a few common issues that users seem have with the Uber app and service. Here are the 4 most popular problems and corresponding solutions that our team answers weekly through our support inbox.
Most often we find that when a user is having trouble logging into their Uber app it is because of a “forgotten password”. Luckily, if you have forgotten your Uber account password, there is an easy fix! You can simply reset your password online or via the app by clicking “Forgot Password?“ on the sign in screen. Then, just enter your email address and an email with a reset link and instructions will be sent to you immediately. Once changed, you should be able to login again. If you are still having issues try contacting Uber’s customer service directly and usually after answering a few security questions they will be able to unlock your account for you.
Uber has multiple promotional offers whether they are for new riders, referring friends to the app, or simply a holiday special! However, sometimes, users will find that their promotional codes are not working correctly. The first and most important thing to remember with Uber’s promotional codes is that to be able to apply your discount, you must enter your promo code BEFORE you request a ride. You can add a promotional code by navigating to ‘payments’ in your Uber app.
It is also important to keep in mind that Uber does not let you use two promotional codes at once. If you want to see an overview of your current promotional offers, tap on “Promotions” in the app menu. Here you will be able to see all your offers and keep tabs on when certain offers expire.
If you notice a charge on your account that you don’t recognize don’t freak out yet! There are a couple possible reasons why a charge may be on your account. First, it is possible that your ride payment is still being processed, when this happens, you will see a random amount being held for authorization. Once your payment goes through, this amount will be refunded. Another possible scenario is that a friend or family member has accidentally used your account. Surprisingly, we see this happen all the time! Ask your family members or anyone with whom you may have linked accounts with to see if they took an Uber recently. Lastly, you could be seeing a cancellation fee, if you requested an Uber but cancelled before the Uber arrived you may have been charged a cancellation fee.
If none of the above fit your unknown charge, send Uber’s support the date of your transaction, the amount charged, and your account details, this will help them to be able to investigate the charge and file a charge-back if needed!
As mentioned above, cancellation charges are one of the top reasons why users write to us looking for help! While you are always allowed to cancel an Uber ride, if you cancel after a certain amount of time, you will be charged a cancellation fee. This is so the drivers are compensated accordingly for any lost time they spent navigating your way. To avoid cancellation charges, make sure to only request rides when you are fully ready to go!
If you feel you were unfairly charged a cancellation fee, you can follow these steps to dispute the charge!